The Silver Commemorative Medallion Of 7th TEMAN (Technical Meeting Of Mints In Asean) In Kuala Lumpur July 10-13, 1995

This Malaysia "TEMAN" commemorative silver medallion was shown to me yesterday at Singapore by a senior Singapore numismatist  during my recent trip to Singapore. He asked me to tell him more about this medallion. I answered to him I have no clue at all not until I am back to Malaysia. I promised to him to find the details. I regret for not be able to bring this "TEMAN" commemorative silver medallion back to Malaysia.
The Technical Meeting of Mints in ASEAN, or abbreviated as ”TEMAN”, was established in Jakarta, Indonesia, in 1983. It is a forum for the exchange of information and know-how relating to coin and medal production including, but not limited to, blank preparation, coin design, engraving and die-making, production and quality control methods, packaging and distribution system, equipment and general management practices, in an atmosphere of mutual confidence.

Since then, TEMAN was held every 2 years, and TEMAN members are rotated in alphabetical order to act as host country.
The TEMAN seal is a diamond with six notches on the surface circled by the words ”TECHNICAL MEETING OF MINTS IN ASEAN”.

The diamond refers to the strength of firm relationships among the member mints. The six notches represent the six ASEAN member mints as of November 5, 1989, namely Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
With only six  members i.e.  Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand at the beginning of this organization, now they have four more additional members namely Myanmar, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. TEMAN provides the opportunity to exchange technical knowledge, skills and other relevant aspects in the minting business.

Now, The diamond refers to the strength of firm relationships with the ten notches represent the ten ASEAN member mints, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Brunei Darussalam, Laos, and Cambodia.
The abbreviated word “TEMAN” comes from the Indonesian word, which means “FRIENDS”.

Membership in TEMAN is limited to mints in ASEAN countries, or in its absence, the coin issuing authority representatives, to attend the conference.
At present members of TEMAN are mints in 10 ASEAN countries, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Union of Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Socialist Republic of Vietnam.

The 17th TEMAN Conference Technical Meeting of MINTS in ASEAN (TEMAN) 2015 conference was held in Indonesia at June 7-13, 2015.


Post a Comment